Like hope, but different

February 13, 2008

Well, folks, I couldn’t resist.  I just HAD to share this little jab at McCain.  I’ve become, at my own amazement, a little politicized lately.  Dang that Barack Obama and his superstar status!  Even I, who have spent most of my adult life in ignorant bliss, shunning most all things political, going completely against the grain of my obnoxiously politically-obsessed family, must cry uncle when it comes to this presidential race. 

I, like so many complacent, apathetic Americans, have been roused from my slumber by that Obama dude.  Inspired.  If I hear that word one more time…I swear to God.  But it’s TRUE!  We’ve become…inspired!  And while I’m not one to jump on a bandwagon (I didn’t see “Titanic” until it had come out on video because everybody and their mother had seen it and was RAVING about it and that damn Celine Dion song was on the radio twenty-four hours a day–I just couldn’t bring myself to join the masses–I think my therapist calls it “oppositionalism”–I call it having a BRAIN, but whatever…), I have put whatever sick I-won’t-fall-for-the-hype pride I have aside and taken a swan dive RIGHT ONTO Obama’s wagon.

I even watched (gasp!) CNN lastnight to see how badly Obama spanked Hillary’s ASS in Virginia’s primary yesterday.  Those of you who know me well know just how MAJOR it is that I bravely ventured away from the E! Channel (I ain’t ashamed to admit it.  Okay, maybe a little ashamed…but I gotta keep up with Britney, y’all!).  It was the best fifteen minutes I’ve had in quite. a. WHILE. (Sorry, Jay)…

I know, I know.  I’m a WOMAN–I should be voting for Hillary.  Listen.  I’m not a hater.  I just don’t trust that dirty bitch, okay?  And no, the lady in my head did not tell me to say that.  THAT, my friends, is 100% Kelly-smack.   

2 Responses to “Like hope, but different”

  1. ragamama said

    Obama yes, but have you taken a look at Ron Paul? In this truly pathetic offering of “leaders” these two have stood out as being real honest to god humans. Though he carries the Republican banner, he is a libertarian and none of the GOP want him because he is against the war. His basic philosophies are these, bring our troops home from all over the world, start minding our own business and our own pocket book,secure the borders, abolish the Federal Reserve, abolish the IRS-go to a flat tax system, stop printing money when we run out, stop borrowing money from the chinese, actually read and follow the constitution, protect our freedoms, and make friends with the world again. Pretty radical for a Republican.

  2. valley haggard said

    Hi Kelly– you have GOT to update your blog!! I want to read more!! Thanks and love, Valley

Leave a Reply

